• Imprint
  • Contact

The Pietzmoor Bog

The Development of the Pietzmoor Bog

The Pietzmoor bog is located on the southern border of the Lüneburg Heath Nature Reserve and now covers an areas of approx. 2.5km2. It is situated in a location that is the perfect setting for a bog landscape, with a depression in the land and several water-impermeable layers of clay in the ground. Profile examinations carried out in 1975 revealed that the maximum peat depth of the bog is 7.50 metres. If we assume that the peat moss (sphagnum) grows approximately 1mm every year, the Pietzmoor bog is now nearly 8000 years old.

During its lifespan, the Pietzmoor has undergone a rather untypical development. Unlike other bogs, it was not created from a nutrient-rich lake that became a swamp and then transformed into a raised bog over time. Instead, different species of cottongrass, sedge and sphagnum started to grow in a watery depression at a very early stage after the Ice Age and continued to cover the area more and more. This form of raised bog development, in which the acidic and siliceous ground plays an important role, is characteristic of a multitude of heathland moors.

 

After being used for many centuries, this treasure almost faced its demise, but successful land restoration measures are now enabling the Pietzmoor to grow again, thus preserving it as a 'natural history book'.

• Impressum
  • Kontakt

Pietzmoor

Die Entstehung des Pietzmoores

Die Entstehung des Pietzmoores

Das Pietzmoor liegt am Südrand des Naturschutzgebietes Lüneburger Heide und umfasst heute noch eine Fläche von ca. 2,5 km². Die Entstehung des Hochmoores wurde begünstigt durch die Muldenlage und durch wasserundurchlässige Tonschichten im Untergrund. Profiluntersuchungen, die 1975 durchgeführt wurden, ergaben, dass die maximale Torfmächtigkeit 7,50 Meter beträgt. Geht man von einem jährlichen Wachstum der torfbildenden Spagnen (Torfmoose) von etwa 1 Millimeter aus, dann beträgt das Alter des Pietzmoores knapp 8.000 Jahre.

Das Pietzmoor hat eine eher untypische Entwicklung durchlebt. Es ist nicht, wie die meisten anderen Moore, aus einem nährstoffreichen See heraus entstanden, der in ein Flachmoor übergegangen ist und sich mit der Zeit zu einem Hochmoor entwickelt hat. Stattdessen siedelten sich hier nach der Eiszeit in einer wasserreichen Mulde schon sehr früh Wollgras-, Seggen- und Torfmoosarten an und bewucherten diese immer weiter. Diese Entstehung des Hochmoores ist charakteristisch für zahlreiche Heidemoore, wobei der saure, silikatische Untergrund eine entscheidende Rolle spielen dürfte.

Eine jahrhundertelange Nutzung hätte fast das Ende für dieses Kleinod bedeutet. Dank erfolgreicher Renaturierung kann das Pietzmoor nun wieder wachsen und bleibt als "Geschichtsbuch der Natur" erhalten.

Web-Tipps
  • Suchen und Buchen
  • Prospekt bestellen